Feeling a little Veganish – Day 1

This past weekend I watched a couple documentaries that really made me think.  While I have been “veg” for a while I have never really tried to give up that all too flavorful and yummy dairy.  If I am honest I am a true lover of all cheeses, I have not yet met one that I do not like.  After watching the information about dairy, the health aspects, I have decided that I am going to try a week diary free.

I am not making a proclamation that I am a vegan, and I will probably never give up my love for beautiful leather handbags, but I am going to try being a little “veganish.”  Luckily I have a husband that goes along with pretty much anything.

So first up on the vegan dinner plan was black beans and rice with vegan sausage.  The sausage was more for D than me, but I enjoyed it too.  I LOVE black beans and rice, and I have mastered my secret recipe, which really only consists of one secret ingredient!  When I was in college in FL there was a little cuban restaurant called Espo’s that served the BEST black beans and rice, I still dream about that place.

For dessert, because I have the biggest sweet tooth known to man, I made a little non-diary wild berry smoothie.  Not exactly ice cream, but it was pretty good if I do say so.

Categories: Culinary Delights | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Feeling a little Veganish – Day 1

  1. Laura

    I loved (and miss) Espo’s, too! I wish I knew their recipe! It was sooo good and thick! If you’ve mastered their recipe, I’d love I’d you could share it. Also, what do documentaries did you watch about dairy? I’ve been trying to ditch the dairy, but I give in occasionally. I made risotto with asparagus last night which seems creamy and cheesy, but it’s not!

    Enjoy the journey and great photos!

    • Laura, the documentaries I watched were Food Matters and Forks over Knives. They were not specifically anti-dairy, but they had some very good points against it. I really like both. I will email you the black bean recipe. They are not as good as Espo’s, but I think they are pretty good.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

